Criminal Traffic Violation: Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License

Criminal traffic is a violation that may involve imprisonment of a defendant if convicted. This type of crime it requires that the defendant attends a court hearing and may face a variety of penalties including fines, probation and jail time. When it is believed that an individual has committed a traffic violation punishable as a misdemeanor a fine of criminal traffic is issued and the person may be detained if a violation of criminal traffic is formulated.

  • The most common examples of a criminal offense of trafficking include:
    Driving without a valid driver’s license
    Driving with a suspended or revoked license
    Careless driving
    Place a plate or label that has not been assigned
    Driving under the influence of alcohol and drugs

Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License Is a Criminal Offense

According to Florida Statutes, it is a crime to drive a vehicle on a public road without a valid driver’s license. The statute specifies the definition of a driver as a person driving or in control of a vehicle in any public place. It also defines a motor vehicle as any vehicle that is self-propelled and does not completely move through human strength. A valid driver’s license means that it recognized by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Florida and is not expired, canceled, revoked or suspended.

Penalties for Driving with Invalid License

Driving without a valid license is a crime under Florida law, and is classified as a misdemeanor of the second degree. This type of misdemeanor may be punished with sixty days imprisonment and a fine of up to $ 500. However, most cases do not receive a prison sentence, instead of this, the defendant receives a permanent criminal record.

Driving without valid license vs. driving with suspended license

There are several key differences between what constitutes a fee for driving without a valid license and driving with a suspended license. Similarly, the consequences are different for each position. In one case invalid license, the prosecution has to prove much- is enough to show that there was no valid license issued at the time when the defendant was driving. This is not difficult to achieve; since the prosecution must only show a history of handling certified by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Another crucial aspect of a charge for not having valid driver’s license and which distinguishes a suspended license charge is that this type of sentence is not used to classify a defendant as a usual traffic offender. In a case of revoked or suspended license, once the person has three or more convictions within a period of 5 years he will lose his Florida license for 5 years. This does not apply when the charges are for not having valid driver’s license.

A conviction for not having valid driver’s license remains in his criminal record and could be harmful to in the future. Many employers, schools, insurance companies and other entities and individuals may request their criminal records and to have a conviction could limit a person’s opportunities in the future. Getting the best criminal lawyer for such case could help avoid some of these consequences.

Overview of Traffic Violation Points

The driver’s license is an invaluable document that not only serves as a license to enter the traffic but also as an identification. That is why you must take care of it and try not to commit infractions that can lead you to lose it. Although there are some states that don’t use a points system, most states in the country has a system that assigns a point value to different types of traffic violations. These points are used by the motor vehicle department of each state to track the records of all drivers licensed in the state.

Most serious crimes have higher scores, while minor violations are assigned minimum points. For example, in a state, not completely stopping at a stop signal can be worth two points; Driving 30 miles per hour over the speed limit could be valued at four points.
This article will provide a brief overview of different offenses and points they can incur. Although the following list of offenses is not comprehensive and point systems vary from state to state, this example shows the relative values that can be assigned by a particular state, based on the severity of the violation.

Six points:
Homicide, negligent homicide or other felony involving the use of a motor vehicle.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Not stopping and escaping the scene of an accident.
Reckless driving.
Higher than legal level of blood alcohol content (BAC).
The refusal to take an alcohol test.
Escaping or evading a police officer.

Four points:

Endurance races or stings.
Driving under the influence of alcohol.
Any blood alcohol level in a driver under 21 years of age.
Driving at 16 miles per hour or more above the legal speed limit.
Not giving way to an emergency vehicle, such as an ambulance, fire truck or a police officer.

Three points:

Careless driving.
Disobeying a traffic signal or stop signal, or maneuvering improperly.
Driving about 15 miles per hour above the legal speed limit.
Not stopping at a railroad crossing.
Not stopping on a school bus or disobeying a school crossing guard.

Two points:
Driving at 10 miles per hour or less above the legal speed limit.
Refusing to take the breath test for alcohol content when the driver is under 21 years of age.

If a driver accumulates a certain number of points within a certain time period, his driving privileges may be suspended and he may not use his license.
Insurance companies also have access to this information and can use it as a basis for raising premiums. It is recommended that you leave early for work so you don’t have to rush because driving safely will avoid headaches and unnecessary increase in your insurance cost.